1908 - Western Suburbs Football Club started after a meeting at Ashfield's Town Hall on the 4th of February. The club played their first NSWRFL game against Balmain at Birchgrove Oval on the 20th of April 1908.

Ashfield Town Hall in 1908 1908 Western Suburbs Magpies team photo

1910 - St Luke's Park becomes the club's home ground.

1912 - Pratten Park becomes the club's home ground.

1912 opening of St Lukes Park

1918Wests win the knockout competition, the City Cup. Their first club title.

1919Wests win their second City Cup.

1925Western Suburbs finish 1st grade runners-up to Souths.

1928 - Western Suburbs officially become known as the "Magpies". Previously the players were unofficially referred to as the Cherry Pickers or Fruit Pickers due to the number of orchards around the Ashfield area.

1930 - Western Suburbs win the 1st grade Minor Premiership and their first Premiership defeating St George 27 - 2.

1930 Western Suburbs team photo

1934 - Western Suburbs win their second 1st grade Premiership defeating Easts 15 - 12 and remain the only first grade team to have gone from Wooden Spoon (1933) to Premiers in one season.

1934 Western Suburbs team photo

1948 - Western Suburbs win the 1st grade minor premiership and their third Premiership defeating Balmain 8 - 5. Wests also won the NSWRFL Club Championship.

1948 Western Suburbs team photo

1952 - Western Suburbs win the 1st grade minor premiership and their fourth Premiership defeating Souths 22 - 12.

1952 Western Suburbs team photo

1955 - Wests Ashfield Leagues Club opens to support the Western Suburbs Leagues Football Club

1960 - The Magpies win the NSWRFL Club Championship.

1961 - Western Suburbs win the 1st grade Minor Premiership and the NSWRFL Club Championship.

1965 - Western Suburbs win the Jersey Flegg championship.

1967 - Lidcombe Oval becomes the club's home ground.

1977 - Wests win the Amco Cup.

1978The Magpies set a home crowd record of 21,015 at Lidcombe Oval on the 30th of July against Parramatta. Western Suburbs win the 1st grade Minor Premiership. The Magpies miss out on reaching the Grand Final when a try is controversially disallowed by referee Greg (Hollywood) Hartley in a semi final clash against Manly Warringah. Tough physical clashes between Wests and Manly lay the foundations of a tribalism known as the Fibros and Silvertails.

1979Ray Martin's infamous 60 Minutes report exposes Wests coach Roy Masters' tactics of face slapping and wall punching to psych his players up before a match.

1983 - The NSWRL voted to reduce the competition to twelve clubs by excluding Newtown and Western Suburbs. Wests took the issue to court and after a long hard fight won their reinstatement.

1987Western Suburbs move their home ground to Orana Park in Campbelltown.

1987 Orana Park Campbelltown

1991 - The Magpies win the NSWRL Club Championship.

1995 - NSWRL 1st grade competition is now run by the Australian Rugby League.

1997 - The club stays loyal to the ARL during the SuperLeague war which tears the game apart.

1998 - The two competitions reunite under the National Rugby League, a 50/50 partnership between the ARL and News Limited. Part of the agreement requires the competition to be cut down to 14 teams by 2000.

1999 - It becomes clear the Western Suburbs Magpies won't be able to fulfill the NRL's requirements to stand alone. After initial talks with the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs fail, Western Suburbs agree to merge 1st grade teams with foundation club Balmain Tigers, forming the Wests Tigers.

Western Suburbs play their final first grade match against the Auckland Warriors on Sunday the 29th of August at Campbelltown Sports Stadium. Wests lose 60 - 16. The Magpies finish with the Wooden Spoon in their final year in First Grade.

T Raudonikis hugs fans at the last game in 1st grade

2000 - Wests Tigers enter the NRL and play their first game at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on the 6th of February and come away with a 24 all draw with reigning premiers the Brisbane Broncos. Former Magpie  John Skandalis scores the Wests Tigers first ever try.

Both Western Suburbs Magpies and Balmain Tigers continue as separate entities in Premier League, Jersey Flegg, SG Ball and Harold Matthews competitions.

2002 - Western Suburbs Magpies captained by Liam Fulton win the SG Ball championship.

2004 - Wests Tigers win the Rugby League World Club 7's. The joint venture's first title.

2005 - Wests Tigers win the NRL Premiership on October the 2nd, defeating the North Queensland Cowboys 30 - 16 at Stadium Australia in front of a crowd of 82,453. 

2006 - Wests Tigers play in the World Club Challenge against the Bradford Bulls on the 3rd of February at Huddersfield, England. Wests Tigers lost 30-10.

2007 - Western Suburbs Magpies play in their 100th season.

2008Western Suburbs Magpies and Australian Rugby League celebrates its Centenary.
Wests Tigers enter a side in the new National Youth Competition which replaces the NSW Jersey Flegg competition.
Wests Magpies play Balmain Tigers in a NSW Cup match at Birchgrove Oval to celebrate the Centenary of the First Ever Premiership Game of Rugby League. Wests reverse history and win 36 - 24.

2008 Birchgrove Oval Team Photo

 2012 - Wests Tigers win the National Youth Competition (Under 20's) defeating Canberra Raiders 46-6.

Magpie supporters hold a protest rally in Campbelltown in opposition to the club exiting the NSW Cup. The board ultimately decides to drop down to the Ron Massey Cup even though members vote in favor of staying in the NSW Cup.

2013 - A Wests Tigers team replaces both Western Suburbs and Balmain in the NSW Cup (Reserve Grade). Western Suburbs Magpies enter a senior team into the Ron Massey Cup (3rd Grade).

2016 - Wests Group become 75% owners of the Wests Tigers after Balmain defaults on a $5.4 million loan from the NRL.

2018 - Western Suburbs Magpies return to the NSW Cup (Reserve Grade) competition.

2020 - The NSWRL cancels the 2021 season of the NSW Cup and Ron Massey Cup due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2021 - Western Suburbs Magpies enter teams in the NSW Cup (Reserve Grade) and Ron Massey Cup (3rd Grade) competitions.

Lidcombe Oval becomes the club's home ground for the first time since 1987.